Sales calls drain me

My honest funnel breakdown

I used to think there was a „right way“ to do this solopreneurship thing.

Filled calendar, sales calls, follow ups, persuasion techniques all that.

…12 months in, I realize the beauty of running your own solo show is actually developing your own technique.

See, I like talking to people.

But somehow sales calls always drained me.

So I did less of them in October, November and December.

I started collecting all the information before the calls,

keeping them short, sticking to the schedule, not overdelivering in the first call.

And I managed to be booked out till Febuary.

In summer I almost quit ghostwriting because I said yes too often.

One of my big goals last year was to go from serving 5 new clients a month to

serving 3-5 BIG ones on a long-term basis.

By the end of the year? I did it.

And right now I have 4 big clients that I'm working with.

Most leads that come to me are 80% qualified.

This hasn‘t always been this way.

I used get inquiries by people who weren’t a right fit.

When you let your content work for itself…

You attract people that agree with your values.

People in tune with your energy.

Here‘s the funnel I created.

  • Content →inquiry via DM or e-mail→ questions I ask →

    if they qualify → 30 min call through Calendly link

  • In the call I evaluate:

    1.) What type of person they are

    2.) If we vibe

    3.) What they need help with

  • Now there‘s 2 scenarios. Most come for ghostwriting. But some want to get help with content coaching. Here I assess their business maturity. Then I check out how they write. Only then I’m comfortable to offer them content coaching.

  • If they wan‘t to get a consultation first, I offer them my 90 min Linkedin audit. That one converts really well with consultants and advisors or solopreneurs in general.

Got curious? Great.

Here are some more observations:

  • I‘ve gotten 2 qualified leads through e-mail with just 300 subscribers.

  • One converted into a $300 consultation call, the one wasn’t a right fit. They gave me the confidence to continue pursuing e-mail as a legit funnel for my services.

  • Most inquiries are male (typically between 35-52)

  • Women who want to work with me are very direct and 9/10 pay during the first call.

  • The more mature my writing is, the more mature clients I get.

    I feel like many people are getting tired of the clickbaity fluff content on Linkedin that’s optimised for growth but less for respect.

Now… if you have a big goal, the realization of it lays in the micro-adjustments you have to make every day to align better with them.

I’m spending my last day in Bangkok before I’m heading back to Switzerland.

Here’s how I can help you …

If you’re a consultant, an advisor or run a Saas biz and you want to add another $7k - $10k to your income with Linkedin….

I have something for you.

I'm opening up my 1-1 coaching program for January.

2 very special consultants will land high-ticket clients from Linkedin in 90 days.

(My last client landed a $7k client in 5 weeks.)

To help you start 2024 strong,

I'm also including a bonus 1-on-1 call with me where I'll craft your personalized strategy.

But I'm capping the coaching at 2 spots.

Doors close on January 15th.

It’s $500 a week, we start on January 30th.

If you want to wait that’s fine.

(But I won’t offer this service until Summer.)

So if you'd like to skip the rush, reply “goals” to this e-mail.

On another note…

you’re probably here cause you’re mad about my stories.

Well I get better at storytelling by sharing crazy stuff that happens to me to my friends in Switzerland on Whatsapp.

But now it’s your shot. I’d like to hear YOUR craziest story.

Drop it in this typeform and I’ll feature yours in my next e-mail.

Anonymously, ofc. 🤫

Here’s my friends reaction to my last story:

PS: My recent crazy one involves getting robbed in Bali.

Stay tuned for my next e-mail. 🤫