How I make money as an anxious person

read this if you’re an anxious achiever

In 2021,

I earned $23/hr to endure customer anger on the phone.

I was severely micromanaged for 3 months by an inexperienced boss.

I was anxious every day.

Today, I make that same salary with one single post.

And the one thing that got me out of that horrible situation was detachment.

I call it the “Not that serious” approach…

It’s the last day of the year and I’ll tell you something

you probably never thought of.

I’m an anxiously attached person.

You wouldn’t read it on my face. I can hide it really well.

But I am anxiously attached to many things.

And people. And places. And feelings.

But I came up with a simple technique that helped me

detach from the outcome.

For an anxious person like me, you need

to understand that we feel the need to control many things.

So we hyper-obsess over useless stuff.

It gives us an illusion that we’re in control.

But really we’re NOT in control and it’s robbing us of an abundant life.

Most of my friends have not clocked me yet.

When I look at the ‘new thing’ I’m anxious about like an experiment,

I detach from the outcome of trying to make it "work" or make it "perfect".

I do many daring things by telling myself:

"Stéphanie, this is not that serious."

Detaching from my thoughts has made me more money

because I don’t hyper-obsess over the outcome I can’t control.

Selling all my stuff to travel full time? Not that serious.

Ending that relationship that drained me? Not that serious.

Moving to a new city with no friends? Not that serious.

Detach from the voice in your head that says “You’re not worthy”

because you haven’t “done enough”.

You see …

Anxiety robs us of a significant quality of life.

We miss out on big opportunities because we can’t muster up the courage.

Maybe you want to do something expansive…

but you’re too anxious to give it a go.

Build the ‘audacity’ by tricking your brain to think it’s just “an experiment”

And “actually not that serious”.

It’s audacity that allows you to skip the steps and

make big moves.

Tell yourself “It’s not that serious” & make a departure.

You’ve been part of the most dramatic year of my life.

Thank you for your support and your messages,

Your encouragement and your inspiration.

I would still be working that horrible customer rep job if it weren’t for you.

I’m already in 2024 so …

Happy New Year and remember -

It’s never that serious,

Stéphanie

PS:

I'm opening up my 1-1 coaching program for the New Year.

2 very special consultants will land high-ticket clients from Linkedin in 90 days. (My last client landed a $7k client in 5 weeks.)

To help you start 2024 strong, I'm also including a bonus 1-on-1 call with me where I'll craft your personalized strategy.

But I'm capping the coaching at 2 spots. Doors close on January 15th.

It’s $500 a week, we start on January 30th.

So if you'd like to skip the rush, reply “2024” to this e-mail.